What’s going on everybody? D2 here and this time I wanna talk to you guys about memories. I was at home just watching my son run around doing his thing and just started thinking about all the memories that he’s put in my head and I was just amazed. Then I started thinking about my wife and all the things we’ve experienced together and I was just blown away by how much those two people have placed permanent marks in my mind and heart. And that’s what got me onto this subject. Memories are some of life’s most precious gifts that a person can hold on to. In fact memories are really the only real valuable things that people can take with them throughout their entire life. It’s also amazing to me that some people in their 80’s and 90’s can remember things from when they were children and here I am in my early 30’s I can’t remember what I had for breakfast the other day. And that’s another reason I think its super sad when people go through their lives creating lots of wonderful memories and then they experience permanent amnesia. I know its not the worst thing that could happen but to me its still a pretty sad moment in someone’s life.
 And with that being said I would like to share with you guys some memories that are near and dear to my heart. Now I already have tons of them and I look forward to making tons more but these are some of the ones that always come to mind when I’m day dreaming about my family.

In the Beginning.

      In the beginning there was just me and my sweetie. Now I grew up in a small town in east Alabama and she grew up in south Florida, so I’ll let you guys imagine the differences we had growing up as children. But skipping ahead to when we became a couple, life was pretty grand back then. We were young and free. No kids, no mortgage, and no responsibilities outside of having regular jobs.. so If we wanted to do something we just up and did it. And look at that smile. Before this pic I rarely recall smiling in any of my pictures. Not a natural smile at least, it was always like a forced smile. This isn’t a pic from when we officially became a couple this is a pic from the first time we spent the weekend in Atlanta, Ga celebrating her sisters birthday. The hotel was nice, the food was over priced and the drinks could have been better but we didn’t care as long as we had each other, everything was good. The entire evening was truly magical because we were surrounded by friends and family. This picture was the next morning as we were getting ready to leave and it was during this picture that I realized how much she loved to take pictures. I obviously wasn’t but this one turned out to be one of my favorite pics of us. And just look at the smile on her. Priceless!
Enter player Number 3

    Ah yes as you can tell from the pic above this is one of the crowning moments in my life. In fact I think this should be a crowning moment in anyone’s life. The day my son came into this world. And obviously this isn’t on his birthday, A birthday of which him and I share, but this is six month later during our first family photo session. At that time we were living in a two bedroom shoebox apartment, I was still working as a temporary employee at a job, bills seemed to be coming from everywhere and my wife was always telling me that she wanted family photos. It really didn’t occur to me that we should have family photos but looking back on it I’m glad we do have some. I didn’t think that we had enough money for a professional photographer but she thought otherwise and so… we had some taken. The photographer was a really fun, down to earth lady and she and my wife had became pretty good friends before and after our photos so she’s our first thought whenever we want professional photos. Now there are some good photos of us posing as a family, and all but I think that the best ones are where we weren’t posing. Out of all the pictures we took, the best one we have is the one hanging over our dining room table. It’s a candid shot she took while we were just playing with my son and gave the biggest smile. She also had a DVD of the entire photo shoot made that she gave us for free. And we had a booklet of my son made and it tears me up every time I look at it. To see him back then and to see him now is truly amazing to me. And again that smile on him is priceless!
The Whole Gang.

    Ok as I’m scrolling through some of our family selfies to find one to dissect for this blog I came across this one. Now this was just a random moment when we were chilling at my parents house for “Sunday dinner” and my wife pulled out her camera and started snapping. Then my son comes and jumps in on the action like he normally does whenever he sees us taking a pic. Now I dont remember what was happening at the moment, and I surely don’t remember what we had for dinner but when I look at this picture, it just dawns on me that that moment was perfect for a selfie of us. And I don’t know what you see when you look at this picture, but when I look at this picture I see nothing but happiness in our eyes and smiles. The bottom right pic is the original, then she said “kiss me” and that became the bottom left. Then my son comes in and my wife said “everybody big smile” which became the top pic. And then she said “ok now do a silly face”, and that became the middle left pic. And in my opinion it mad a pretty good family selfie.  And yet again, those smiles are priceless!

Like I was saying before memories are some of life’s most pressings gifts. Some people keep them for an entire lifetime and unfortunately some people don’t. One of the worst things is when people hold on to bad memories. Because bad memories tend to hold you back from reaching certain steps in your life. And every since my son came into this world he’s put so many good memories in my head, it feels like he’s pushed most of the bad memories out. These are just some of the treasured moments in my life. And thanks to these pictures and this blog I’ll always be able to come back to them later on when I need a quick pick me up. And I’m pretty sure I’ll smile every time I do.

Thank you if you’ve read to this point of my blog. I hope I didn’t bore you to death, or ramble on about my life too much. Please feel free to leave me some comments in the sections below! I’d love to know what type of memories you guys cherish! As always, I will see you guys next week!

Leave a Reply

