The Beard Life

What’s up  everybody? It’s me again as usual, and this time I wanna talk to you guys about something else that’s very close to my heart.  I wanna discuss my ” hickey hider”, my “crumb catcher”, my “face fur”, or whatever you may call it. I wanna talk to you guys about my BEARD.

So please sit tight,  I won’t be long but I’m gonna take my time and take you guys on this 3 year…. no imma start earlier than that, let’s say this 10 year journey… from me looking like a boy to  me looking and feeling like a man all because I let my facial hair grow!

In the beginning 

In the beginning I was just like any other dude in his mid twenties. Still in college, working at a sporting goods store, living in his own apartment, and wearing the almighty “chin strap” like a crown on his face.  At the time you couldn’t tell me that every woman I saw didn’t wanna sleep with me. Here see for yourself!

Fresh new haircut

Mannnnn… you couldn’t tell me I wasn’t  the bomb (lol). But I didn’t walk around acting like a duschebag or anything like that.  No that want my style,  I was always laid back and relaxed. I rocked that look for a long time. I loved it because it made me look a little older than I was, which was cool because I liked older women anyway. (Lol) It was kinda funny because with this look  only women my age would try and talk to me and I was curving them all.

A New Look

    So some years had flown by and I was starting to see that every dude I saw was wearing the same facial hair style that I was. And I’m not saying I owned it or anything it’s just that i like to be someone who sticks out or be different than everybody else.  And plus whenever I went into the barber shop it was weird how the people behind me were getting the same style. Even my barber had that style and that was the final straw to me.  So I decided is find a new style, but I needed a haircut at the time so I wore it one last time. I knew it would be weeks before I would get another cut so that’s when I started looking for a different style.  Now when I say looking, I don’t mean I talked to other people about it or I went searching online.  No I would just look at some pictures of myself and try to imagine how I looked.  And to my surprise it didn’t take that long for me to figure out. I decided to go with the “scruffy beard” look because it made me stick out and it didn’t effect my job. In fact one of the younger guys at my job said he was looking for something different so he gave it a try, but his girlfriend didn’t like it so he went back to the”chin strap”. Here have a look at mine.

My first new look

See what I mean. I didn’t look like any of the guys in my circle, and this made me look even more older than I did before. And you all know how I felt about older women at that time (lol)

Old Pictures, New Beginnings

    So a few more years later and then I noticed that my newest favorite facial hair style becoming more and more popular. And this time I told myself that no matter how many dudes copy it, I’m gonna keep it.  So by this time I’ve met my wife, gotten married and we’ve had a child by now. So one Sunday we were having dinner at my parents house and my mom brings out some old family pictures. And I see one picture of my dad when he was around my age, he worked at a plant like I do, and he was holding me (as a baby) about the same age my son currently was. (Coinsedence?…i think not!) But there was one thing he had that I didn’t……. a beard! (And an afro but I never did like the way I looked with a lot of hair on my head) It wasn’t one of those “hippy” looking beards, but it had decent length to it, it looked healthy,  my mom liked it and he looked… well… “manly”. I thought it was kool and at that moment I thought to myself “why don’t I grow a beard”.

I Was Just Thinking That

     A few days later at work, one of my co worker walk up to me and says “ man why dont we grow us a yeard?” So the first thing that comes outta my mouth is ” what the hek is that”, and he said “grow a beard for a year!” He had already started his a month or two ahead of me. So he pulled out his “beard comb”, and I burst out laughing. Then he tells me im gonna need one also, and I start laughing even harder. So I added, and the rest of the day the only thing I could think about was this journey I was going to take. I didn’t tell my wife until I got home fun work because I wasn’t sure if she was gonna like it. But  still the main thing I wondered was how I was gonna look. So I get home later that evening and tell my wife the big news and she gives me a puzzled look, but she says I should try it out. And that put me into hyper drive mode.  

Hyper Drive mode 

     About two weeks into my “yeard” I was going beard crazy. Researching combs,  beard shampoo,  beard balm,  beard oil,  I mean if it had anything to do with a beard I researched it. I bought a handmade wooden beard comb which was no bigger than a penny. (The wife laughed at me for a week for spending  $20 on a Barbie doll comb. Btw) 

#Kent wooden beard comb.

And after two or three beard balm trials I finally found one that I liked. The smell was pretty awesome from this stuff. 


Honest Amish beard balm

    Within about 3 to 6 months my years was growing and looking healthy. Whenever the sun hit it it was shiny, and whenever I passed a mirror or some shiny window tint I couldn’t help but stop and stare at it. 

 
From then to now

   Well from here on it mostly becomes a pic blog. But please keep scrolling. There’s some more reading to be done. 

4 months

     ^This was on Valentine’s Day. And I didn’t wanna let my barber trim it at all but I wanted to look nice because the wife and I had a hot date that night. This was also the time I  realized that my mustache was acting real petty and stubborn.

6 months

    ^This was one of the first times I whipped out my camera and saw my beard shinning in the sun so of course I had to snap a selfie lol. 

10 months

    ^Around this time I joined #Instagram and started smack talking about all the beardless dudes out there by making meme funny memes.  And I even joined a beard club which was pretty fun. But I had to resign because they wanted me to travel and my bank account didn’t allow it  lol. But even though I resigned from the group i still keep in touch with since of the  bearded bros.

13 -14 months

    ^Around this time I was reading into making my own beard oil. And it just so happens that I did. And the wife loved it. I had three main scents.  One with a peppermint  after scent,  one with a citrus after scent, and (the wife’s favorite,) one with a sweet coconut after scent. But sadly the co worker who asked me to grow a beard with him shaved his off. But that didn’t stop me. 

Almost 2 years

     Two years down and I was very proud of myself for not shaving it off. And something kept telling me to keep growing. And after seeing some of the bearded bros I was kinda jealous. So that got me more  motivated. 

2 and a 1/2 years

     I was still expierement with different like and scents. But just fell in live with the three I had already made I gave up on it. 

    And that brings us to today. My beard is still going strong but one thing i have never done that I’ve needed to do for some time is get my edges trimmed because it gets tangled very easily and combing it out is sorta painful early in the morning when I’m getting dressed for work(Lol) I wash it 3 days a week and oil it twice a day.  I’ve considered bottling and selling the oil but never got the guts to do it. I just really never knew where to start when it came to selling it. My son likes it because he knows that when we’re wrestling all he has to do is pull my bread and he wins. My wife says she wouldn’t know who I was if I shaved it off. And I’ve talked so much smack about beardless men that there’s no way I’d shave it off, they would probably hurt me(Lol). 

     But anyway that’s my story in a nutshell.  I had planned to grow a beard for one year and it ended up being for life. And I couldn’t be happier with the decision I made.  I still haven’t given it a name though.

I had really enjoyed my #beard journey.  It’s an experience that I encourage every man to go on!

Thank you for reading my blog. Please leave a comment. I’m always intrigued by what people think. 

Leave a Reply

